Home   »   Living   »   A race against the sand-timer

A race against the sand-timer


The adrenalin-fuelled desert motor race, Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, is back for the 25th year

Engine pistons will be firing in celebration as the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge returns for its milestone 25th anniversary from 27th March to 2nd April.

The eight-day event will see motor-mad drivers race in Liwa Desert to battle for podium glory.

There are three categories: Auto, for four-wheel drive cars; Moto for dirt bikes and Quad for quad bikes.

It all starts at the rally HQ – Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island – at 10am on Friday 27th March. Competitors driving cars, motorbikes and quad bikes gather for a marking and sealing process – meaning all vehicle modifications must be made before this point.

The first leg of the event, the Super Special Stage, starts at 3pm on Saturday 28th at the North Handling Stage at Yas Marina Circuit. Legs two to five take place at various locations in Liwa Desert; the sixth leg starts in the desert then finishes at Yas Marina Circuit at 4.30pm on Thursday 2nd April.

Spectators are welcome to watch the races for free at all locations.

Winners from each category will win a gleaming trophy – not to mention bragging rights.

For details contact: www.abudhabidesertchallenge.com

Jack Dignum


Find the race


Save these GPS coordinates for each viewpoint location:

Leg 1 Super Special Stage: Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island Saturday 28th March

Leg 2: Liwa Desert
Sunday 29th March
GPS: N23 22.834 E53 06.852

Leg 3: Liwa Desert
Monday 30th March
GPS: N22 57.719 E53 46.931

Leg 4: Liwa Desert
Tuesday 31st March
GPS: N23 07.953 E53 17.843

Leg 5: Liwa Desert Wednesday 1st April
GPS: N23 10.603 E54 20.198

Leg 6: Liwa Desert
GPS: N23 10.603 E54 20.198 and Yas Marina Circuit,
Thursday 2nd April




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>